Photos of a Muse

Musée d’Orsay Sunset

Last night (2010-08-19), Paris Karin and I took advantage of the late night hours at the Musée d’Orsay and I came away with this pic. The sun setting through the windows of the Musée d’Orsay.

A couple notes.

Though it’s not very well communicated, prices dip from 8€ to 5,50€ after 6pm on Thursday evenings when the museum is open until 9:45pm.

Also, because so many abusive tourists kept taking flash photos, the Musée d’Orsay changed its policy from “No Flash Photography” to “NO Photography” period. You’ll see tons of signs indicating this, but no one said anything as I went around taking pictures, without a flash, bien sûr.

9 responses

  1. Lovely! I’ve always wanted to get to the d’Orsay during its evening hours, but it has never quite fit my plans on visits – yet.

    August 20, 2010 at 14:23

  2. Thanks! The visit is worth the effort, for sure. There’s a different kind of light at night that really adds a depth to many of the works. Thanks for stopping by!

    August 20, 2010 at 15:08

  3. Susan

    I so wish I was there! One of my favorite museums ever!

    August 20, 2010 at 15:54

    • Hi Susan,

      All the more reason to come back. Soon!

      See you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      August 20, 2010 at 18:40

  4. Paul, I have not been to d’Orsay in a year or so but this photo will compel a stop on my next trip. Love the sunset — What a gorgeous building!

    I am still looking and thinking about the Wed post and the Chupa Chups…. hummmm? Maybe I have not been there? Don’t tell us yet!

    August 20, 2010 at 17:23

    • Hi Genie!

      Thanks for stopping by! The museum is still gorgeous but somewhat in a state of disarray with all the remolding going on. Still definitely worth a visit, though.

      As for the “Where is it Wednesday”, there was a bigger clue than may seem in my hint. Look for double meanings!

      Concerning the “flashers” (lol), i think everybody considers themselves an exception, which creates the problem. I agree, they really irritate me!

      See you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      August 20, 2010 at 18:39

  5. Oh, and PS….

    I hate that they have restricted photographs but the tourists are so hard-headed (or stupid). I was in castles in the Loire valley and despite constant reminders people kept “flashing.” Grrrrrr…

    August 20, 2010 at 17:25

  6. Anais

    It’s a really cool picture.I like it !!!!!

    August 23, 2010 at 23:33

    • See what cool things I do when you’re not around! 😉

      Love you, Babe!

      Paris Dad (lol)

      August 24, 2010 at 22:10

Leave a Reply

