Photos of a Muse

Paris by Cell Phone: The Week That Was (12/09 – 16/09/2010)

This is a collection of the pictures I’ve posted this week on my Twitter page (feel free to follow!) for Paris by Cell Phone. As a special bonus, there’s an extra hint to Where Is It Wednesday, as the coveted Chupa Chups badge is still up for grabs!

Sept 12: Holy Sunday

The Grande Mosquée de Paris. Note: I kinda cheated on this one as I forgot to take pictures of this with my cell phone when Jason and I went there, so technically this is not a “Paris by Cell Phone” picture.

Sept 13: Monument Monday

Place de la Bastille, la Colonne de Juillet and l’Opéra de la Bastille

Sept 14: Typical Tuesday

Vide Grenier / Flea Market

Sept 15: Where is It Wednesday

Where is it Wednesday?

As no one found the correct answer, here’s a hint. The man who sculpted this is the same man who designed the statuette for the French equivalent of the Oscars.

The first correct answer wins a coveted Chupa Chups badge!

Sept 16: Pot Luck Thursday

Steak haché au poivre

Sept 17: Freaky Friday

One (very) Happy Statue

Sept 18: Special Saturday

To be posted later!

Click here for an explanation of Paris by Cell Phone

Click here to follow me on Twitter

6 responses

  1. Sab

    Hi Paul – hope you got your Paris Set Me Free bookmarks finally – I had to make some first!!!

    This would be the giant thumb sculpture, at, ummm, let me see, ahh! Where I used to work for ages – La Defense! I used to think it was by Dali (could have been really, couldn’t it?)but it’s by César Baldaccini, but I don’t know if he really was bald…

    September 18, 2010 at 13:15

    • Hi there Sab!

      Indeed, I did get the bookmarks. Very stylish and professional, thank you so much! I left a comment on your Photo Quiz blog encouraging people to leave some comments.

      And thanks for waiting a couple days to give the others a chance to answer this week’s “Where Is It Wednesday?” before providing us with the correct answer. You were right, it’s a sculpture by César Bladaccini, who is also the reason why the French Oscars are known as the Césars. It’s at La Defense, between the Grande Arche and La CNIT.

      Next correct answer takes you to the next level of rewards…stay tuned!

      Thanks for playing along and see you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      September 18, 2010 at 19:38

  2. Paul.
    Love your photos. You know I stayed about two blocks from the Bastille in June. That photo made me homesick although I really tried to like the Opera, I just DON’T! 🙂

    Great shots. Love the background photo of the Palais Royal stop, one of my favs. Now that thumb? Never seen that one. 🙂
    V

    September 19, 2010 at 16:08

    • Hi Virginia!

      Thanks so much for your nice comments. The photos are not as “pro” as I’d like but then that’s the whole idea of Paris by Cell Phone! I’m with you on the Opera, though!

      The thumb was exaplined a little later, but it’s a statue between the Grande Arche de la Defense and the CNIT building. The sculptor is César Bladaccini, who also designed the “César” statuette, the French version of the “Oscar”.

      Thanks again for your visit and see you in the streets!

      Paris Paul

      September 19, 2010 at 22:07

  3. BTW, the mosque? I have one of the tower left. Thought I might run it this week just to set off the Tea Partyers! I have a mean streak!!!

    September 19, 2010 at 16:08

    • Go for it! I did my best by taking my Jewish son to the mosque to commemorate 9/11. If you didn’t get a chance, the post is here.

      See you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      September 19, 2010 at 22:08

Leave a Reply

