Photos of a Muse

Eat Pray Love Julia Roberts

Yesterday (2010-09-19) Paris Karin and I went to the avant-premiere of Eat Pray Love (or Mange Prie Aime) as it’s known here. While this isn’t really my genre of movie (not enough blood, violence or nudity), we did get a kick out of seeing Julia Roberts who was there at the UGC Normandie on the Champs-Elysées to present the film. Here are a couple memories I came away with.

Paris Karin and I had seat in the front row, on the right side, next to the stairs Julia had to mount to access the stage. While this picture of her leaving obviously didn’t come out as I’d planned, I like the overall effect.

9 responses

  1. Lucky you, getting to see Julia in person. Love the shot of the ceiling. Did you like the movie? I”ve not heard great things about it.
    Vv

    September 20, 2010 at 23:11

    • Thanks, Virginia!

      The movie disappointed me a little as I was hoping for something more spiritual than romantic, but the experience was a blast!

      See you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      September 21, 2010 at 20:30

  2. Susan

    I just read the book and thought it was fun. I wonder if the movie was able to capture it.

    September 21, 2010 at 02:17

    • Sorry. Karin said the book was more about Liz’s personal journey, while the movie was more about her romantic journey. I guess they had to go that way to attract more of the general public.

      See you in the streets,

      Paul

      September 21, 2010 at 20:33

      • “Karin said the movie was more about Liz’s personal journey, while the movie was more about her romantic journey. I guess they had to go that way to attract more of the general public.”

        Karin said the BOOK was more about Liz’s personal journey, but I think that’s what you meant to write. 🙂

        Yeah, it is kind of too bad that it got so slanted to the romantic journey side of things, but it may inspire some new readers of what is a really good book!

        Like you wrote, this was all more about the experience of getting to see Julia Roberts and crew there! I would have loved it if the author, Elizabeth Gilbert, had been there, too, though.

        September 23, 2010 at 15:09

      • Thanks for pointing out the error in my ways, Angel. Changes made 😉

        See you in the hallway,

        Paris Paul

        September 23, 2010 at 20:18

  3. I like that last shot too, Paul. It is a shame for you that there were none of your favorite elements (b, v, and n), you got to see Julia and sneak a photo!

    xx
    Genie

    September 21, 2010 at 12:31

    • Thanks for stopping by, Genie,

      Yes, that last shot turned out kinda funky, but I’m a fan of funky. The experience was better than the movie, for sure, but not to be missed.

      See you in the streets,

      Paris Paul

      September 21, 2010 at 20:34

  4. Hi Paul, where is “find it Wednesday”?? I only get it right with lots of clues or after someone else has given the answer — hah! I saw lots of Chupa Chups in Spain last week.

    September 22, 2010 at 12:44

Leave a Reply

